The people is separated into 4 hemispheres based upon lines that latitude and longitude.

The Equator Divides the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres

The equator is an imagine line the is equidistant from the North and also South Poles. This line drops at zero degrees latitude.

The Equator is the line of zero levels latitude about the middle of Earth and also is the diving line between the northern and southern hemispheres. Image: NASA, public domain.

The part of the planet that is phibìc of the equator is well-known as the northern Hemisphere. The component of the earth that is south of the equator is well-known as the southerly Hemisphere.

You are watching: Which continents lie only in the northern hemisphere

Prime Meridian Divides the Eastern and Western Hemispheres

The Western and Eastern Hemisphere are divided by zero degrees longitude i m sorry is well-known as the prime Meridian.

The west Hemisphere rectal the geographic an are west that the prime meridian and east the theantemeridian i m sorry lies at 180 levels longitude.

The eastern Hemisphere is uncovered east of the element Meridian and also west of theantemeridian.

The element Meridian divides the civilization into the eastern and western hemispheres. Image: NASA, publicly domain.

The just Continent That have the right to Be found in All four Hemispheres

While numerous of the world’s continents are traversed by the separation between two hemispheres, over there is just one continent in the people that lies in all four hemispheres: Africa.

This geography fact also means that Africa is the just continent to have actually land both at theEquator and also the prime Meridian.

These two maps show how the continent of Africa lies in both the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres and also the Western and also Eastern Hemispheres.

Map that Africa and also the Northern and Southern Hemispheres


How many African countries does the Equator happen through?

The Equator passed through a complete of seven nations in Africa. Starting from the west to eastern these countries are: the island nation of São Tomé and also Príncipe,Gabon, Republic of Congo, theDemocratic Republic of the Congo (DRC),Uganda,Kenya,and Somalia.

See more: What Color Wall Paint Color For Green Carpet, The Best Color Paint For Hunter Green Carpet

Map of Africa and also the Westernand EasternHemispheres


How many African nations does the prime Meridian pass through?

The prime Meridian the cross through five African countries. Starting from phibìc to south, these nations are: Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tongo, and Ghana.



Tags Africa, continents, hemispheres, homeschool geography, homework help, political geography enter your email to get the geography Realm newsletter: