|The main sdrta.net > Basketball|
off top of backboard
Fri may 23, 2003, 07:46pm
probably a pretty usual question. In the nba, if the ball bounces turn off the peak of the backboard, is that still inbounds or the end of bounds? go it depend on which side of the backboard that lands (front or back)? many thanks to all.
You are watching: Is the top of the backboard out of bounds
It"s a myth that a sphere that hits the optimal is OOB. The round is not OOB, under NBA, NCAA, or NFHS rules, if the ball hits the optimal of the backboard. It"s OOB if the goes over the top, touch a support, rope, cable, shooting clock, etc., or hits the earlier of the backboard.
Just prefer high school, 5 sides the the backboard (top, bottom, left side, right side, front) space inbounds. In HS, if the sphere goes end the peak of a rectangle-shaped backboard, it"s OOB, whether or not it struggle the top an initial (sometimes it hits the rim and also then go over). In the NBA, if the ball attempts to go over the top, it will hit the 24 second clock and this puts it OOB.
Let me add another NBA twist. Unless the sphere goes directly over the backboard, it"s tho in play. Snapshot the square top top the board. If it goes out directly over that, it is out. Yet if the round goes over at an angle to either corner, it"s play on!
I constantly thought the was a weird rule. What angle must the round go end at to be legal? 45 degrees? 50 degrees? 21 degrees? If it goes over, it goes over.
How around this twisted from the same rule: the sphere is additionally considered to be OOB if that passes straight behind the backboard. For this reason if you throw a pass from one corner on the baseline to the other edge on the baseline and it goes behind the backboard, TWEET, OOB! Wierd! (Rule 8 section II-b).
See more: Who Had Control Of Land And Labor In The South (Article), The New South (Article)
__________________Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this short article are relevant for men"s games only!
How about this twisted from the exact same rule: the round is also considered to it is in OOB if that passes directly behind the backboard. For this reason if you throw a pass from one corner on the baseline to the other corner on the baseline and it goes behind the backboard, TWEET, OOB! Wierd! (Rule 8 ar II-b).
Is there anybody else below who would pay a many money to work with Juulie when she to be reffing in high heels?!?!?!
__________________Any NCAA rules and also interpretations in this article are pertinent for men"s gamings only!
Originally posted by JuulieGinger Rogers did every little thing that Fred Astaire did, yet she did that backwards and also in high heels. (Not the I"m going come ref backwards, or in high heels...)
Is over there anybody else right here who would pay a lot of money to work-related with Juulie when she to be reffing in high heels?!?!?!
Thanks because that clarifying that call, I shed a game that method last year and all this time I thought I acquired ripped off. I"ve watched it dubbed the other way too numerous times.Thanks,Coach Corbittwww.NWAhoops.com
Welcome to the site, coach!
This is among those basketball myths. Unfortunately, too many officials believe the myth as well.