I"ve recently started play basketball and also was wondering around some that the comment made about this (pretty cool) NBA commercial special LeBron James. The looks favor he takes 1 step after receiving the ball prior to dribbling it, is that taken into consideration to be a travel? i doubt the NBA would make a commercial reflecting a tumultuous violation so I"m presume it"s valid but want to recognize what the exact dominion is.

You are watching: How many steps can you take without dribbling



You would certainly think castle wouldn"t encompass a turoulend violation, however they did. Indigenous the NBA Rules ar XIV:

f. In starting a dribble after (1) receiving the ball while stand still, or (2) comes to a legit stop, the ball should be out of the player"s hand prior to the pivot foot is elevated off the floor.

From hearne to mine friends who I would think about avid NBA fans, travelling and carrying it seems to be ~ to be the most typical complaints where modern-day referees frequently ignore the created rules.


There"s likewise some additional information regarding traveling in the 2011-12 NBA Rulebook:

Section XIII—Traveling

a. A player who receives the round while was standing still may pivot, utilizing either foot as the pivot foot.

b. A player that receives the ball while he is advancing or upon perfect of a dribble, may take it two steps in coming to a stop, pass or shoot the ball. A player who receives the ball while the is progressing should release the ball to begin his dribble prior to his second step.

The very first step occurs when a foot, or both feet, touch the floor after gaining control of the ball.

The 2nd step occurs after the first step as soon as the various other foot touch the floor, or both feet touch the floor simultaneously.

A player who pertains to a protect against on action one when both feet are on the floor or touch the floor simultaneously may pivot making use of either foot as his pivot. If he jumps through both feet he must release the ball prior to either foot touches the floor.

A player who lands v one foot an initial may just pivot making use of that foot.

A proceeding player that jumps turn off one foot top top the first step might land v both feet at the same time for the 2nd step. In this situation, the player might not pivot with either foot and if one or both feet leave the floor the ball should be released before either return to the floor.

See more: Which River Is East Of The Andes Mountains ? Which River Is East Of The Andes Mountains

Columnists have actually blasted the rule:

And if you’re in ~ it, clean up traveling, as well (the two-steps-and-bunny-hop is particularly insulting come the storage of Dr. James).

-- Shaun Powell

So the dominion specified in
Will Cole"s answer problems somewhat with this one. Follow to this 2009 ESPN article, the organization has generally instructed refs not to force the rule.